Pemberley Press Logo
Pemberley Press
  Escape Fiction For Eager Minds
Pemberley Press
Corona del Mar, CA 92625
Fax: 949-675-6431

Meet Our Authors

Pemberley Press promises to introduce you to a group of talented authors who will enrich your lives:


Patricia Wynn

Our first author, Patricia Wynn, holds a degree in history from Rice University, and a Masters in International Management. Ms. Wynn has written romances set in the Regency and late-Georgian periods for Harlequin, Fawcett and Dorchester, including a lead title from Leisure LoveSpell, CAPTURING ANNIE. With the award-winning THE BIRTH OF BLUE SATAN, she began a swashbuckling mystery series rich in adventure, romance, and the history of early 18th-century Britain. Her second mystery, THE SPIDER'S TOUCH, won a Benjamin Franklin Award from the Independent Book Publishers Association. Her third, THE MOTIVE FROM THE DEED, received a starred review from Library Journal.

Ms. Wynn hails from Texas, but lives in Newport Beach, CA. She is past-president of the Heart of Texas Chapter of Sisters in Crime, the Austin Chapter of Romance Writers of America, and Orange County Sisters in Crime, and is a member of Novelists, Inc. and the Los Angeles chapter of Sisters in Crime.


Aileen G. Baron

Pemberley Press is honored to publish the fifth and final mystery novel by award-winning author Aileen G. Baron, who died just short of her ninety-second birthday in 2016. For twenty years, Dr. Baron was a professor of archaeology at California State University at Fullerton. As a professional archaeologist, she did fieldwork in the Middle East, spending one year at the American School of Oriental Research in Jerusalem as an NEH scholar. She also served as director of the overseas campus of California State Universities at the Hebrew University. In retirement, she authored five acclaimed mystery novels set in the international realm of archaeology and antiquities trading. Her first novel, A Fly has a Hundred Eyes, won first place in the mystery category at both the Pikes Peak Writers Conference and the SouthWest Writers Conference, and introduced amateur sleuth Lily Sampson, a pre-World War II archaeologist in the Middle East. These books are still available from Poisoned Pen Press. The Gold of Thrace began a second mystery series, set in the modern day and featuring Tamar Saticoy as her sleuth. Return of the Swallows is the second and final novel in this series. TOP

Victoria Heckman

Victoria Heckman, award-winning author of the K.O.’d in Hawai‘i Mystery Series, joined Pemberley Press in April, 2003. The first book in this series, K.O.’d in Honolulu, is available from Writers Exchange E Publishing. Her two Pemberley Press titles are now available exclusively from the author. Ms. Heckman's short fiction has appeared in FUTURES, Short Story, Kid’s Highway, Mysterical-e, The Smog, Without a Clue, LoveWords, TRUE SOUL MATES, MORE SLOW DEATH, and AND SOME OF THEM ARE DEAD. She has published numerous articles and newsletters, as well as editing two anthologies and co-editing a third. She also works as a free-lance editor.

Ms. Heckman has served as the president of Sisters in Crime-Central Coast Chapter, and is a member of Sisters in Crime National’s E Publishing Committee and the Police Writers Association. She is a past member of Mystery Writers of America

She divides her time between California and Hawai‘i.


Kathy Lynn Emerson

In 2004, we introduced a new mystery series by bestselling author, Kathy Lynn Emerson, author of more than 40 books, including the Face Down Mystery Series. She also pens the Lisa Macrimmon Mysteries under the pseudonym Kaitlin Dunnett, and is the author of HOW TO WRITE KILLER HISTORICAL MYSTERIES (April, 2008), winner of a 2009 Agatha Award. With the Diana Spaulding mystery quartet, DEADLIER THAN THE PEN, FATAL AS A FALLEN WOMAN, NO MORTAL REASON, and LETHAL LEGEND, she brings the era of Nellie Bly to life. Ms. Emerson is well known for her impeccable research and attention to historical detail, vivid characters, and challenging plots. For more information about Ms. Emerson, visit her website at


Marion Moore Hill

In 2006, we welcomed author Marion Moore Hill to our list, starting with the first novel in her new Deadly Past Mystery Series, DEADLY WILL. Ms. Hill was born in Haskell, Oklahoma, and holds degrees from Butler County (Kansas) Community College, Oklahoma Baptist University, and Stanford University. A former legal secretary, college teacher of journalism and English, and owner of an ethnic/gourmet grocery, she has won numerous awards for her mystery fiction, both short and long. In 2008 she completed DEATH BOOKS A RETURN, the second novel in her “Scrappy Librarian” series, which began with Bookmarked for Murder. (available from the Fiction Works) The first sequel to DEADLY WILL, DEADLY DESIGN will appear in September, 2009. We look forward to publishing the rest of both of these entertaining series.

Ms. Hill lives in Durant, Oklahoma, with her husband Elbert, a retired professor of children’s literature from Southeastern Oklahoma State University. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and Oklahoma Writers’ Federation, Inc.


Stephen Gaspar

We are pleased to announce the arrival of a new author to our list. Stephen Gaspar teaches social studies at Holy Names High School in Windsor, Ontario, his longtime home. He attended the University of Windsor and received his teaching certificate from Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario. He is a member of Crime Writers of Canada and the author of The Canadian Adventures of Sherlock Holmes.

His first novel from Pemberley Press, TO KNOW EVIL, combines the religious intrigue of a Da Vinci Code with a traditional whodunit, set in a remote Benedictine monastery, where one of the monks must be the murderer. In Brother Thomas of Worms, he has created an appealing character, whose quest for knowledge should resonate with the readers who enjoy our books.


Author Guidelines

We regret to say that Pemberley Press is not looking for new authors. See our About Us page.

Copyright 2008 Pemberley Press. All rights reserved.
Last updated: 14 January 2013
Comments and suggestions